Frequently Asked Questions
|What is a 'Link' and how do I find it?
The link (also called 'url'
or 'web address') is found at the top left of your browser. Links are
extremely helpful when trying to show a part of a website to someone else,
as you know that you are both looking at the same page.
|I've seen this picture
before! Where's my picture?
There is currently a large wait before pictures
submitted to 'Easy' are displayed (over 2 years), so to get them seen
earlier, they are shown on other websites. These include JigsawOnline.net
and others. Every
picture that is shown on these smaller sites will eventually be shown on
sudoku.com.au as well - the pictures are not duplicates, this is by
same picture will be shown twice on a particular website. This is due to
the same photo being submitted twice, a month (or more) apart. To
understand how this causes a problem, here is a brief explanation of the
whole photo process:
- Every 2 weeks, all user submitted photos are
downloaded from sudoku.com.au in a batch (typically 50-100 photos).
- Duplicate photos are removed from this batch.
These photos were not checked against
already accepted photos (2000+) as it was judged too hard/time
- Any offensive/incomplete photos are removed.
- Photos are reloaded up to to sudoku.com.au,
ready to be shown when a sudoku is solved.
So, you can see that
if a person submits the same photo months apart it will be accepted every
time - and duplicates occur.
A few months ago (July 2007) there was a lot of
duplicates displayed and the process was changed. Now, new photos are
compared to already accepted old photos to make sure they have not already
been accepted - so duplicates cannot occur.
However, for duplicates that are already in the
system (added pre July 2007) it is now too difficult to remove them, and
we just have to wait till they have all been passed.
If you are waiting for your
picture to be shown, rest assured, it will eventually turn up. Try here
for a full list of acceptance
|How do I save and load
To save a
game, just press the 'Save' button. The saved game is stored as a cookie
on your computer - if you delete the cookies in your browser, then your
saved games will be deleted.
To Load a game, first go to the same day/difficulty
as the puzzle that you saved. Eg: If you pressed 'Save' for the Hard
puzzle of 1/May/2007, when you come back (maybe days later), go to the
Hard puzzle of 1/May/2007 again. Then press the 'Load' button, and your
saved game will automatically load. You can choose different dates in the
|I found 2 solutions to a
puzzle! How do I check this?
When solving puzzles from other sites or newspapers,
occasionally the puzzles allow more than 1 solution. You can check to see
if a sudoku puzzle is valid here
. If the puzzle is invalid, then I'm sorry,
but we can't really help. If you think that a puzzle on this
site has more than 1 solution, then
definitely send in the puzzle with the 2 solutions. Be sure to check it
carefully though, as plenty of people have sent in alternate solutions and
has been correct.
|How do I pay using
via paypal is the easiest method, and allows you get your sudoku
membership within minutes. If you do not have a PayPal account, you will
be walked through setting one up when you apply for membership. You can
cancel your membership and paypal account at any time. Full Details
|Hey, you billed me without my
permission! What's going on?
The sudoku supporting membership is a recurring subscription, and you will be automatically billed every 6 months.
From the membership signup page:
This is a recurring subscription, and you will be billed automatically every 6
months, so you don't have to worry about forgetting to pay & losing your ID.
You can cancel your subscription at any time via paypal.com. Also, if you forget
to cancel, and are billed, then we can give you a refund (contact us within 10
days of being billed).
If you would like to cancel your subscription:
- Click the 'Update Details link at the top right.
- Scroll to the bottom of the page and press the 'Cancel Subscription' button.
If you forgot to cancel your membership and get billed accidentally then just Send an Email
and a refund will be given, no problem.